The Black Widow in my window

Posted On September 18, 2009

Filed under Random

Comments Dropped 6 responses

I have lots of windows in my house. I love windows. Sunlight or rain I enjoy the open feeling. I even enjoy it at night watching my lizards run around eating the bugs attracted by the light. Some times they even go after each other, fighting over the bugs. It’s alright though their the kind that their tails grow back after a good fight.

So one day I’m watching the lizards do what they do and notice a beautiful spider in my window. I don’t mind spiders…as long as they are outside. I live in Mississippi, we have mosiquitoes and the spiders eat the bugs. To me it’s a great example of a life cycle at work.

So I’m watching this beautiful little spider grow for a few weeks. Then for the first time she turned and showed me her tummy. I looked closer. Then called in my husband who is more afraid of spiders than I am. But he’s one of the few people I know that have seen a black widow first hand.

He’s looking at my spider. Then googling because while the spider has a red mark on her stomach it didn’t look like the normal hourglass.

Since then we’ve determined she really is a black widow. She’s grown to look like a normal widow.

A large bottle of bug spray with a long range and she’s not worrying me anymore. And she’s going to be a show and tell at my son’s school as soon as I get her out of the window.

6 Responses to “The Black Widow in my window”

  1. frigginloon

    That’s like a billion bucks of bad luck right there. Had you been more patient you could have trained it to fetch your morning newspaper. Haven’t you seen Charlotte’s Web? Now I am tearing up 😦 . Spider killer, spider killer!!!

    Psst Your big sis told me to come over here and abuse the hell out of ya!!!

    • Claire Collins

      I just saw this. I’m cracking up.

      I told her not to do it.. *scuffs shoe on floor innocently*

    • suzettevaughn

      I also killed a non-venemous one the other day with a $12 paperback book. Which I thought about after it was smeared across the back. At least it was mine and not one I was suppose to proof-read.

  2. downcastmysoul

    A park by my house got overrun by brown widows for awhile.

    • suzettevaughn

      Hebee Jebee’s and goosebumps. I wouldn’t be going there for a while.

  3. downcastmysoul

    The recent cool weather has seemed to get rid of them, I hope.

Leave a Reply

